2021 DTBL All-Stars

July 11th, 2021 by Kevin

Embed from Getty Images
After a one year hiatus, the DTBL All-Star Game will take place later this week.  The game will be played at Cougar Coliseum, making the Cougars the first franchise to host the Mid-Summer Classic for a fourth time.  The last time they played hosts was in 2010, when the National All-Stars prevailed 4-1.  For this year’s game, Jay and David are the designated managers for the American and National squads respectively, on the strength of their teams finishing in the top two spots a year ago.  They were responsible for breaking ties in the votes and for selecting the player for the final roster spot.

With the the All-Star Game not having taken place a year ago, it is unsurprising that there are a large number of first time All-Stars this year:  20 in total and 13 on the National roster alone.  On the other end of the spectrum, Mavericks pitcher Clayton Kershaw is the All-Star veteran, making the National squad for an eighth time.  However, this is his first selection since 2017.  Similarly, Choppers catcher Buster Posey is making his seventh appearance and first since 2017.  It will also be his first appearance with a team other than the Demigods.

Perhaps most notable of the players who will not appear in this year’s game is Mavericks outfielder Mike Trout, who had made the All-Star roster every season of his DTBL career prior to this one.  Of course, he probably would have made it once again if not for getting injured back in May and not having played since.

The National Division has won the last four All-Star Games, but will have their hands full in their attempt to extend that streak.  The American roster appears to be exceptionally strong, particularly among hitters.  Vladimir Guerrero, Shohei Ohtani and Ronald Acuna highlight a loaded American lineup.  The National squad will be able to counter with some of the league’s best pitchers though, including Jacob deGrom, Kevin Gausman and Max Scherzer.

Here are the 2021 DTBL All-Stars.


American Division


  • Pitcher – Brandon Woodruff, Choppers (1st All-Star appearance)
  • Catcher – Buster Posey, Choppers (7th)
  • First Base – Vladimir Guerrero, Moonshiners (1st)
  • Second Base – Jake Cronenworth, Komodos (1st)
  • Third Base – Rafael Devers, Moonshiners (2nd)
  • Shortstop – Trea Turner, Beanballers (3rd)
  • Outfield – Ronald Acuna, Jackalope (2nd)
  • Outfield – Whit Merrifield, Choppers (3rd)
  • Outfield – Shohei Ohtani, Moonshiners (1st)


  • Catcher – Gary Sanchez, Jackalope (4th)
  • First Base – Jared Walsh, Jackalope (1st)
  • Third Base – Jose Ramirez, Komodos (2nd)
  • Shortstop – Bo Bichette, Beanballers (1st)
  • Outfield – Jesse Winker, Jackalope (1st)
  • Outfield – Yordan Alvarez, Komodos (1st)
  • Pitcher – Trevor Bauer, Choppers (2nd)
  • Pitcher – Walker Buehler, Komodos (2nd)
  • Pitcher – Gerrit Cole, Jackalope (4th)
  • Pitcher – Yu Darvish, Moonshiners (2nd)
  • Relief Pitcher – Josh Hader, Beanballers (3rd)
  • Relief Pitcher – Craig Kimbrel, Choppers (7th)
  • Relief Pitcher – Raisel Iglesias, Jackalope (2nd)
  • Relief Pitcher – Mark Melancon, Komodos (3rd)

National Division


  • Pitcher – Jacob deGrom, Darkhorses (3rd)
  • Catcher – Salvador Perez, Cougars (3rd)
  • First Base – Freddie Freeman, Demigods (5th)
  • Second Base – Ozzie Albies, Mavericks (2nd)
  • Third Base – Manny Machado, Mavericks (4th)
  • Shortstop – Fernando Tatis, Demigods (1st)
  • Outfield – Nick Castellanos, Mavericks (1st)
  • Outfield – J.D. Martinez, Demigods (3rd)
  • Outfield – Randy Arozarena, Kings (1st)


  • Catcher – Willson Contreras, Demigods (2nd)
  • First Base – Matt Olson, Kings (1st)
  • Second Base – Jose Altuve, Demigods (6th)
  • Shortstop – Marcus Semien, Kings (1st)
  • Outfield – Aaron Judge, Mavericks (3rd)
  • Outfield – Austin Meadows, Demigods (1st)
  • Pitcher – Kevin Gausman, Cougars (1st)
  • Pitcher – Max Scherzer, Kings (7th)
  • Pitcher – Zack Wheeler, Kings (1st)
  • Pitcher – Clayton Kershaw, Mavericks (8th)
  • Relief Pitcher – Matt Barnes, Kings (1st)
  • Relief Pitcher – Liam Hendriks, Darkhorses (1st)
  • Relief Pitcher – Freddy Peralta, Demigods (1st)
  • Relief Pitcher – Ryan Pressly, Cougars (1st)

All-Stars per team:

  • 7 – Demigods
  • 6 – Jackalope, Kings
  • 5 – Choppers, Komodos, Mavericks
  • 4 – Moonshiners
  • 3 – Beanballers, Cougars
  • 2 – Darkhorses


The players who were selected for the 23rd and final roster spots by the managers were Jose Altuve and Jose Ramirez, both of whom were nearly unanimous selections in the vote anyway.  Here are the full voting results.  For the record, one person did not vote, so players who received nine votes were unanimous selections.  More All-Star Game coverage coming soon.

Leave a Reply